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VIDOL ANNOUNCES NEW MINIMUM WAGE LAW  
 
 The Honorable Cecil R. Benjamin, Commissioner of Labor, announces that the new 

minimum wage in the U.S. Virgin Islands for the private sector was raised to $5.65 from $5.15 

per hour.  This law, effective January 1, 2006 was passed by the 26th Legislature on September 

26, 2005.   

 Included in this legislation was also the increase of the minimum wage for tipped 

employees in the hospitality industry from $4.30 per hour to $5.30 effective January 1, 2006.  

Commissioner Benjamin states, “We are asking all employers in the territory to comply with this 

new law to avoid costly and time consuming wage claim violations.”  The federal minimum 

wage has not increased since September 1, 1997.  States such as California, Washington, Maine, 

Massachusetts and Oregon have also enacted legislation raising the minimum above the federal 

minimum wage.  “ In light of our high cost of living and low or no benefits given to most 

employees in the private sector, this is a welcome wage policy”, concluded the Commissioner. 

 For further information, please contact the Department of Labor’s Division of Labor 

Relations at 776-3700 on St. Thomas and 692-9686 on St. Croix. 
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